It’s all their fault really. Sorry for the lack of posting, I’ve had my brother to stay and we went away for the weekend. The weekend before I was madly trying to prepare for the visit of el Brotherus Minimus, as well as utilizing the hire car I had to its utmost, and so there’s been a silence from Jozi.
So, the week(s) in brief.
I went on the ‘702 Walk the Talk’ walk on Sunday three weeks ago… It was great fun, although deeply exhausting. Jo’burg is about 1800 metres up and so walking around is really, really exhausting. But there were lots of us and we managed to do the 5kms.
All the blue things are Monash noise makers, whoever thought them up was a marketing genius! So many people asked me about what Monash was and where we were and how many of us were on the walk (about 350 including staff and students!). It was a beautiful day - I even got sunburnt!
Then two weekends ago I hired a car and went for a wander over to the Rhino and Lion Reserve, which is actually only about 20 minutes from campus. I saw lions, zebra, ostriches, cheetahs, wild dogs and a plethora of what I fondly refer to as “bucky- things” – that is animals that bear some general relationship to a buck of some description! There were many, many bucky-things!




They’re kinda cute too, but not anywhere near as cool as the Lions! We saw white lions too! KIMBA!!! I love that show as a kid, so it was great to see the lion cubs playing and being thrown around by their carer.
Then this last weekend my brother came to visit, so I took him along to the wonderous joy that is Gold Reef City – it’s hideous really, but still the gaudiness was amusing to dis if nothing else! We saw a show there called African Footprints. It was, to be honest, really awful. There was a great deal of Bollywood going on, but Bollywood gone wrong. It was too glitz and also far, far too apolitical. We watched them deal with Apartheid in one rather easy and comfortable song.
El Brotherus Minimus at the gaudy entrance to Gold Reef City - check out the bling! Oh, and for R40 you can check out 'Groovy Nights' which looked like an excuse for a girly show. Yuk.
Anyway, after that we went to Pilansberg National Park on Sunday and saw giraffes! And elephants! And buffalo! And hippos! And rhino! And zebra, many, many bucky-things and other animals of an exotic nature. We did not, however, see any of the big cats. So we headed (back for me) to the Rhino and Lion Reserve to see the lions for el Brotherus Minimus! And that’s when we got to play with baby white lion cubs! They were only 7 weeks old and while I feel rather torn over the nature of our exploitation of these wild things, I also really loved playing with them, they were SOOO CUTE!!!!!!
[There will be pictures of giraffes, elephants and white lion cubs as soon as I can get an internet connection that is faster than an ice age.]
Anyway, now I’m back to the hard work again, which, really, is not so bad. Plus I’m actually getting some research done! Hurrah!
I shall to try to be more regular in my updates – plan for this weekend – do some bush walking to get out and about a bit. I don’t enjoy being cooped up like one has to be here. So a couple of us are planning to go up into the hills and do some hiking.
Oh, and I bought a GPS!!! It’s great!!! Even though I’m sure el Brotherus Maximus might find it a little pedestrian, it tells me where to go and in this city that is an amazing thing!
PS. There are more photos but the bandwidth here makes a 56K modem look like rocket science. So I'm going to try and upload more piccies tomorrow morning before the kiddies slow the web down to a pitiful dribble...